Category News

Competition Finalists for 2015 – update

July 18, 2015 News

The finalists for the various competitions this year are as follows:


  • All Stars’ – Donella and Hee Haw
  • De Big Show – Adonijah, Biggie Irie and Classic
  • Headliners’ – Adrian Clarke, Chrystal Cummins-Beckles and Colin Spencer
  • The Experience  – Enobong.
  • (Reserve)  – MRBLOOD -Headliners

Sweet Soca

  • Hypasounds
  • TC
  • Biggie
  • Mistah Dale
  • Edwin
  • Blood
  • RPB
  • Web

Party Monarch

  • AC
  • Gorg (Will not compete due to illness)
  • iWeb
  • Hypasounds
  • King Bubba FM
  • Kirk Browne (formerly the reserve)
  • Mikey
  • Peter Ram
  • Lil Rick
Read More


May 19, 2014 News

The chance to showcase to Brazilian music industry experts at the social evening held as part of the Government Political/Commercial mission to São Paulo last September, has really paid off for entertainer Stedson ‘Red Plastic Bag’ Wiltshire and musician David ‘Zig-E’ Walcott.

RPB & Zig-ERed Plastic Bag (RPB) and Zig-E were members of the cultural delegation headed by Senior Business Development Officer with the National Cultural Foundation (NCF), Ms. Alison Sealy-Smith, who travelled to São Paulo, Brazil last year.

This is the second performance opportunity for Barbadian artistes resulting from that mission to Brazil...

Read More

Move tent moves

April 17, 2014 News

After the announcement a few weeks ago that Mikey had moved from the Headliners tent, an article in todays Nation Newspaper states that former All Stars tentmates Ian Webster, Adrian Clarke, Chrystal Cummins-Beckles, Colin Spencer, Mandisa and Smokey Burke have joined the Adrian “Boo” Husbands managed tent.

Mr. Husbands is quoted as saying that in the last 8 years, Headliners had changed from a tent known for social commentary to more of a party monarch and sweet soca tent and these changes which were announced yesterday at Hilton Barbados are an attempt to reposition the tent for the new dynamics of Cropover.

Read More

Ian Webster wins the 2013 Pic-o-de-Crop competition

August 3, 2013 News

Ian Webster has emerged as the winner of the 2013 Pic-o-de-Crop competition.  In a year that many considered wide open due to the non-participation of last years winner, Red Plastic Bag and another perennial finalist, The Mighty Gabby, after the first half, most of the competitors seemed to be on even keel.

The second half however, seemed to be the decider as some competitors fell in either performances or delivery, while others raised their game.

Ian walked away with a Ford Focus Titanium provided by one of the title sponsors, MQI along with a host of other prizes.

Second placed was Ian’s tentmate Chrystal Cummins-Beckles. Third place went to Blood.

The full results are:

  1. Ian Webster (All Stars)
  2. Chrystal Cummins-Beckles (All Stars)
  3. Blood (Headliners)
  4. Colin Spencer (All Stars)
  5. Aziza (Hous...
Read More

Soca Kartel sweep at Bushy Park

July 28, 2013 News

Blood has taken the Sweet Soca title from his Soca Kartel compatriot Mikey for 2013.  Singing  “Ah Can’t Wait”, Blood beat out Biggie Irie by just 2 points.  Red Plastic bag was third with 453 points.

The full results of the Sweet Soca Competition 2013 are:

  1.  Blood – 473 points
  2. Biggie Irie – 471 points
  3. Red Plastic Bag – 453 points

4th to 8th position (in alphabetical order)

  • Ian Webster
  • Mikey
  • Mr. Dale
  • Nathalee
  • Timmy

Blood, Mikey and Blood & Mikey swept the top 3 spots in the Party Monarch Competition.  Singing the infectious “Roll it”, Soca Kartel performed last and worked the crowd into a frenzy.

The results of the Party Monarch Competition are:

  1. Soca Kartel – 416 points
  2. Mikey – 374 points
  3. Blood – 361 points
  4. Khiomal – 355 points
  5. Mr. Dale – 333 points

6th to 10th place (in alphab...

Read More

MQI/BANKS/LIME Pic-o-de-Crop Order of Appearance

July 25, 2013 News

The finalists and their managers met at the National Cultural Foundation to draw for positions in the MQI/BANKS/LIME Pic-O-De-Crop Finals scheduled for August 2nd at Kensington Oval.

PoC Finals 2013 Draw


The order of appearance is as follows:
1. Colin Spencer
2. Blood
3. TC
4. Serenader
5. Aziza
6. Ian Webster
7. Sir Ruel
8. Mr. Dale
9. Adrian Clarke
10. Chrystal Cummins-Beckles

Reserve:  Smokey Burke


Read More

Pic-o-de-Crop Finalists

July 20, 2013 News

The 10 Pic-o-de-Crop Finalists  are as follows:


Cave Shepherd All Stars

  • Adrian Clarke
  • Chrystal Cummins-Beckles
  • Colin Spencer
  • Ian Webster


De Big Show

  • Mr. Dale
  • Serenader
  • TC



  • Blood


House of Soca

  • Aziza
  • Sir Ruel



All Stars

  • Smokey Burke




Read More

Junior Calypso Finalists

July 8, 2013 News

It was a keenly fought contest at the 2013 Scotiabank Junior Calypso Monarch Semi-Finals and at the end 14 performers were chosen to compete against Jazz ‘Jazz-Z’ Gittens and Aisha ‘Mandisa’ Butcher in the 8-12 and 13-18 categories respectively.

They are:

8 – 12 Year Old Category

  • Dynamo (Asher Murrell) – My X
  • DJ (Daryan Jordan) – Stand
  • Mighty K.T. (Kymorhi Trotman) – Poverty
  • Mighty Makeda (Princess Thomas) – True Royalty
  • Quinn P – Quinn Prescott – Living with HIV
  • Raanan (Raanan Hackett) – Learn to Swim
  • Mighty King (Trevon Callender) – Rise Up Young People

The reserve is Black Beauty (Liana Ifill) – Moving On

13 – 18 Year Old Category

  • Aziza (Aziza Clarke) – The Guardians of Calypso
  • De MC (Chad Montplasir) – Uplift the Youth of Society
  • Honesty (Charice Walrond) – Respec...
Read More

Sweet Soca Finalists Announced

July 6, 2013 News

The seven Sweet Soca finalists have been announced after last nights’ semi-finals.  They will face the reigning Monarch Mikey on July 28th at Bushy Park in the MQI/98.1FM sponsored Sweet Soca Finals.

The finalists are:

  • Biggie Irie – Need ah Riddim
  • Blood – Ah Can’t Wait
  • Ian Webster – Moving/Enjoy Yuhself
  • Mr. Dale – Fearless
  • Nathalee – How we Party
  • Red Plastic Bag – Right Now
  • Timmy – Carnival Story

The reserve is Hypasounds with Sunrise.

Read More

Judges for 2013 CropOver Competitions

June 26, 2013 News



  • Washbrook Bayne  (Chief Judge)
  • Ryan Boyce
  • Alvin Mayers
  • Dr. Victor Agard
  • Norton Brewster
  • Jo-anne Sealy
  • Dave Jackman
  • Harold Tull



  • Washbrook Bayne (Chief Judge)
  • Hamel Antrobus
  • Pearson Bellamy
  • Winston Farrell
  • Gaye Gajadhar
  • Leslie Lett
  • Derek Marshall (Alt)
  • Litchfield Nurse


  • Washbrook Bayne (Chief Judge)
  • Charlie Austin
  • John Bryan
  • Sgt. Michael Cummins
  • Joy Knight-Lynch
  • Anthony Lewis
  • Sach Moore
  • Victor Pilgrim

Party Monarch Competition


  • Leslie Lett (Chief Judge)
  • Derek Marshall
  • Dionne Knight
  • Scott Headley
  • Robin Jason Watson
  • Kirk Worrell


  • Leslie Lett (Chief Judge)
  • Melvin Alick
  • Cherie Bayley
  • Amanda Cumberbatch
  • Arturo Valentino
  • Winston Welch

Sweet Soca Competition

Preliminaries & Semi-Finals

  • Jude Eastmond (Chief...
Read More